10 Things I’ve Learned From Working Out for 3 Years

It’s been almost 3 years since I turned on my first Blogilates video and started incorporating exercise into my schedule on a day-to-day basis.

I work out 5 days a week: 3 days Monday-Thursday, and 2 days on the weekend. This gives me wiggle room to plan around any days that will be most difficult to squeeze an hour long workout into. When I tell people my workout schedule; I often get reactions like: how do you find the time? how do you stay motivated? or don’t you have other things to do?

Exercise is a routine for me, and if I don’t do it I will feel sluggish and not like myself. It makes me feel good about myself and that’s why I KEEP doing it. Despite this, there are always ups and downs to my fitness journey along the way. Here are 10 things I’ve learned in the past (almost) 3 years since starting:

  1. Your body will never look like anyone else’s; its YOURS! There’s been many instances where I see someone at the gym with ripped arms or a curvy butt and said: I want that. It is okay to have a goal to work up to, but remember that all our bodies are different and even if you did 500 squats and leg lifts, your butt may never look like hers. Compete to be the best version of yourself.
  2. That 80/20 rule about your diet being 80 percent of the influence to the changes you see if your body is completely true. Your diet controls how you will feel, and how well your workouts go. Incorporate carbs, proteins, sugars, and good fats into a well-rounded meal plan to see results.
  3. You will plateau if you don’t switch up your routine. Your calves will get used to running the same speeds just like your abs will get used to doing a million bicycle crunches. I often switch between regular Pilates and HIIT routines to running to strength training in the gym every few weeks to keep my muscles shocked and never adjusted.
  4. It’s important to invest in good shoes specified for certain routines: running, training, etc. Replace them when needed. This goes for fitness wear, too! Avoid injuries, and stay comfortable.
  5. Switching up the location of your workout will leave you feeling refreshed. I work at my campus gym, and being there day in and day out can leave me feeling like that is the last place I want to be. Go on a hike or run outdoors if you like cardio; or do yoga or HIIT workouts outside when the weather calls for it.
  6. Resort to your favorite workout, or the one that leaves you feeling best if you’re in a workout slump. Pilates is always my go-to when I am no longer seeing results, or just lose interest in working out. It happens when you do it so often, so I always go back to what makes me feel the healthiest.  
  7. 7. There are people who will workout with you; you just have to seek them out. I’ve been denied numerous times when trying to plan an exercise date with a friend or a hike with family members. Not everyone is going to want to work out or eat healthy with you. Don’t force it on anyone and seek out the ones who will.
  8.  You will stop losing weight after a certain point. I’ve been within the same ten pound range for the last 2 years even with my diet changes and consistent workout routine. Your body does have a natural weight. You can always lose fat and gain lean muscle after than, but don’t get discouraged if you can’t gain or lose weight after a certain point.
  9. Don’t workout to see changes in numbers. It will drive you crazy. Workout to feel good about yourself. Take that feeling post workout as a reward in itself. And if you’re not feeling it one day; don’t do it. Take a break if you need it.
  10. Posting photos of yourself at the gym can be great motivation to others; but they’re not necessary for people to see your progress. You should always exercise for yourself.  People will see your progress and positivity in your vibe without you posting a gym selfie or tweet about your latest workout.

Join the conversation and tell me what you’ve learned from your fitness journey in the comments!

Leave a Reply

