Who run the world? Strong girls.

It’s International Women’s Day and social media is booming with quotes and photographs about feminism. One of the most popular: “Here’s to strong women. May we know them. May we be them. May we raise them.”

Today I want you to ask yourself: Who do you think of when you hear the word strong?

Strong does not necessarily, but can mean physically or emotionally strong. One can have strength in their passions, bravado, or character. One can simply be strong for caring for others, or taking on an extraordinary challenge.

When I think of strong, I picture physically strong women like my favorite fitness moguls: Jillian Michaels, Cassey Ho, and Jen Widerstrom.

When I think of strength, I picture the mentally and emotionally strong women in my life: the women in my family, my intelligent and caring female professors, my best girl friends.

These are the women who work to lift other women up instead of putting them down, who work hard to fight for their rights and social justice, and who live their lives full of passion and perseverance.

My passion for fitness stemmed from my strong beliefs in equality, feminism, and women’s rights. I owe that to the strong women in my life that I was blessed to grow up around.

Take the time to think about what strength means to you, and spend today sharing a few “YOU ROCK”s to the strong, intelligent, kickass women in your life!

.

One thought on “Who run the world? Strong girls.

Leave a Reply

