Featuring: My Favorite February Fitness Finds!

This month was full of fun fitness finds! Here are my favorites of the month:

1. Acai Bowls 

Photo from The Huffington Post

Acai bowls consist of acai, granola, berries, almond milk, and additional fruits and toppings for the perfect pow wow morning meal or on-the-go boost! I tried my first acai bowl in San Luis Obispo this month at Sally Loo’s cafe on a weekend trip and fell in love! They are super filling, refreshing, and the perfect treat to satisfy any sweet tooth.

Acai and other power-fruit and granola based bowl shops are popping up left and right! The nearest location in San Jose is Power Bowl, but you can get them elsewhere at Jamba Juice: now serving them throughout the day!

2. U-JAM Fitness

If you like Zumba and dancing at clubs and concerts; U-JAM may be the perfect workout for you. It is a new Bay Area-based dance exercise class made to get you moving to current hits!

I went to a class last night and it was full of booty shaking, squats, and hip hop fun. My instructor, Marylou, played Nicki Minaj, Ariana Grande, and Beyonce to highlight the “Let the Music Move You” company slogan.

She also invited people to join her onstage to make the class fun and engaging!

Workouts don’t always have to be miles and miles of repetitive running. Find what you love and working out won’t be a chore! If you love dancing to popular hits, try out a U-Jam class.

Find your closest U-Jam class here: Classes

Money-Saving college tip: Dance Boulevard in San Jose has free trial classes and they are offered at various 24 hour fitness locations with membership!

3. Wild by Cheryl Strayed (and the PCT Trail)

               

Okay, this isn’t exactly a fitness find, but it’s an inspiring story about a woman who hiked the Pacific Coast Trail on her own! I finished the novel this month and it made me want to venture on my own spiritual hike. Wild was recently adapted into a film with Reese Witherspoon as Cheryl, the book’s fearless female hiker and author of the novel.

Pick up a copy for a guide on hiking, information about the PCT Trail, and a little indulgence of self love and inspiration.

4. Nike FREE 5.0 Running Shoes & Victoria’s Secret Ultimate Yoga Leggings

236

After using the same Nike’s for a year, I decided to ask for a new pair for Christmas this year and received these  Nike Free 5.0’s (pictured left). I’ve been using them for a month now and can vouch for their quality. They are comfortable, durable, and get me through all my runs and circuit training routines. Would recommend if you’re looking for new workout kicks to invest in! Price: $90-110 on the Nike Website, available in a variety colors and styles.

Untitled

Am I the only one who has trouble finding workout pants that stay put while I’m running? It is a tough find, and the closest I’ve found so far are Victoria Secret’s Ultimate Yoga Leggings. They stay put, are fashion forward, and don’t stretch out in the wash. While also a steep investment item, I’m going to recommend them if you’re looking for even just one great pair of pants to perform cardio in! Price: $55-60 a pair (Tip: look out for coupons before purchasing!)

What are your favorite workout pants? Tell me in the comments!

5. Spotify’s FUN CARDIO Station

It’s always a goal of mine to find new music to work out to every month. It keeps workouts fresh and encourages the “just one more song!” feel during lifting and cardio sessions.

Spotify, the popular music streaming service, is always updating its “Workout” playlists. My favorite this month: “Fun Cardio.” It contains all the Top 40 hits that have a high BPM to run, dance, or step to!

Songs include: Heartbeat Song by Kelly Clarkson, Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars, 7/11 by Beyonce, and Masterpiece by Jessie J.

Check out my Twitter at @misskaylajj for a collection of my favorite finds and topics of the month!

4 thoughts on “Featuring: My Favorite February Fitness Finds!

  1. Tia says:

    Hi Kayla! You’re blog is amazing….inspiring….motivating! I have been sharing it with my friends 🙂
    Thank you for all you’re great tips!
    I found that running pants from target are actually comfortable & don’t roll down while running (affordable & sometimes on clearance!). Also, Saucony running shoes are the BEST! It’s all I run in! Expensive ($110) but totally worth it; i buy 2 pairs at a time & get a discount at my local running shop. Keep up the good work! Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Annie says:

    Hi there 🙂
    I loved this post – The whole localized fitness theme is really really cool, and I’m always looking for new running playlists so thanks!

    P.S. I’ve just started reading ‘Wild,’ and it’s looking really interesting so far!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

